For the UTM the globe is divided into 60 zones,each spanning six degrees of longitude.Each zone has its own central meridian from which it spans 3 degrees west and 3 degrees east.X and Y coordinates are recorded in meters.The origin of each zone is the equator and its central meridian. The value given to the central meridian is a false easting of 500,000.